Lifelong Learner Hall of Fame Celebrates Iowans

The Wallace Winkie Foundation established the Lifelong Learner Hall of Fame to celebrate and honor Iowans who have made a lasting impact on the quality of life in Iowa through their contributions to lifelong learning. Today the foundation, in partnership with Heritage Area Agency on Aging, AARP Iowa and the University of Northern Iowa, is pleased to announce that it is accepting nominations for the 2018 Hall of Fame through Aug. 24.

Nominees may be current or past Iowa residents of any age, or they may be Iowa organizations. Nominators may be family, friends or admirers. Inductees will be chosen by a committee of Iowans who are leaders in the area of lifelong learning, including Simon Estes (Simon Estes Foundation); Dan Gable (Dan Gable Wrestling Museum); Kelli McCarthy (University of Northern Iowa); and Mary Muehl (AARP Iowa).

The foundation will recognize inductees in an October ceremony and will make a one-time minimum donation of $500 to the charitable organization or institution of each inductee’s choice. Nomination forms are available on the foundation’s website,, or on