Iowa Commission on Aging honors McClintock, Heaton with prestigious award for their outstanding commitment to older Iowans, Iowans with disabilities

June 12, 2018 Des Moines, Iowa

Today, due to their outstanding contributions made on behalf of older Iowans and Iowans with disabilities, Barb McClintock, former Polk County senior center administrator and community advocate, and former Iowa Representative Dave Heaton were each presented with the 2018 Betty Grandquist Lifetime Achievement Award by the Iowa Commission on Aging.

As the governor-appointed policy-making arm of the Iowa Department on Aging, the Iowa Commission on Aging created the prestigious award to identify and recognize Iowans who have dedicated their personal or professional lives to achieving excellence in the fields of aging and/or disability, or who have made significant contributions to promoting independence and enhancing quality of life among older Iowans and Iowans with disabilities. Named for the former director of the Iowa Department on Aging and former chair of the Iowa Commission on Aging, Betty Grandquist, the award has been presented annually since it was established in 2009.

McClintock, of Des Moines, worked for Polk County for 27 years managing programs for older adults, including the Nutrition Program, PEER Advocate Program and Supplemental Foods Program. With a passion to help older adults remain independent, McClintock served as the administrator for six multi-purpose senior centers and 11 congregate meal sites and represented Iowa on the National Institute of Senior Centers Executive Committee. She is also a strong supporter of evidence-based health promotion programs, and worked to help establish the Iowa Falls Prevention Coalition and bring programs like A Matter of Balance and Stepping On to counties across Iowa. Barb also played a significant leadership role in helping Des Moines be recognized as an Age-Friendly City.

Iowa Representative Dave Heaton recently retired from state government after completing his 12th term in the Iowa House. Since 1995, Heaton has represented the 91st District and has a long record of bringing people together and overcoming challenges in a bipartisan manner. His service to older Iowans cannot be overstated. In 2012, he sponsored the bill that established the Elder Abuse Taskforce and went on to champion a comprehensive approach to elder abuse prevention and intervention in Iowa. He was also the lead sponsor for the bill that established the Office of Substitute Decision Maker to ensure the most vulnerable Iowans have access to a reliable, court-appointed public guardian. Heaton’s career has made a significant impact on improving the senior service delivery system to all Iowans.

McClintock and Heaton join past award winners Bob Welsh (2009); Kitty Buckwalter (2010); Russ Proffitt (2011); Bob Brown (2012); Julie McMahon (2013); Patty Esch (2015); and Di Findley and Sen. Maggie Tinsman (2016).

About the Iowa Department on Aging
The Iowa Department on Aging (IDA) is an executive branch agency dedicated to making Iowa the premier state in which to live and retire. To meet that goal, the IDA works closely with the Iowa Commission on Aging and Iowa’s six Agencies on Aging to develop a comprehensive, coordinated and cost-effective system of long-term living and community support services that helps individuals maintain health and independence in their homes and communities. More information is available at